My Lady Luck

I’ve always shared a love-hate relationship with the females in my life – I love them, they hate me. In fact, at many parties and other convivial occasions, I’ve seen women glance empathetically at my wife with the sort of expression in their eyes that they might cast upon a painting of one of the early Christian martyrs at an art gallery. I’ve come to know from reliable sources that ladies generally swoon at the prospect of spending an evening out with me – and go into hiding as soon as they regain consciousness.

Some of this state of affairs, I admit, is my own construction. When I entered college, I was determined to be a cowboy (apart from being a doctor of course; I reckoned that with the professional hazards that a gun-fighting cowboy generally encountered, medical knowledge might come in handy), and though I had never ridden a horse, I could draw a water-pistol out of my trouser pockets with the speed of lightning. As all readers of Louis L’Amour and Oliver Strange would recollect, cowboys are very particular in their misogyny and regard the female of the species with rather thinly veiled contempt – until of course they meet that special woman who causes a stirring in their hearts (and presumably in some lower portion of their anatomy as well). So you can say that at that stage of my life, my relationship with females was based on the hate-hate equation.

To make matters worse, I made the acquaintance of a batchmate whose name was Dinesh, and who as I soon learned, had a draw that was even faster than mine. And since he had actually ridden a horse at some school fair, I became absolutely devoted to him. Now Dinesh was even more ardently dedicated to the misogynist principle in ‘The Cowboy’s Manual’ than me. When he grew weary of target practice with his airgun on a cardboard target hung on the hostel-room wall, he taught me to fire paper-bullets at the cheeks (facial that is) of the girls during lectures, using a rubber band as the launcher.

“I help them to be rosy-cheeked without makeup,” he explained.

The girls however were much less appreciative of this philanthropy and my chances as a future Casanova took a considerable beating as a result. This continued for a while; but if there is one thing that I have learnt in life, it is that though a man can fight his destiny, he can never fight his glands. Day and night they screamed their demands to me, until to Dinesh’s intense disgust, I was forced to admit that misogyny was not my cup of tea; in fact philogyny was a better description of my true inclinations. By the time I realized this however, my reputation was already made, and as acute observers of feminine character would agree, once a woman’s mind is made up it is impossible to change it with anything short of brain transplantation. So there I was, stuck with a cowboy’s reputation and a Casanova’s aspirations – just what I deserved, my distaff readers would probably exclaim at this point. But be charitable ladies, I adjure you; a man is entitled to a mistake or two in his youth, I say.

Despite the elephantine character of a female’s memory, I believe I might I have still made it in the end, but for two insuperable encumbrances. Firstly, my nose. Romantic literature, I believe, lays a lot of stress on the role of the eyes in fostering intimate relations between opposite sexes of a species; but first one has to get past the nose to make better acquaintance with the eyes. My nose was neither Roman nor Greek (the two most renowned nosy nationalities), nor was it of any other type that is generally encountered in heroic descriptions in world literature. Possibly, the best description that a perceptive female critic once gave it was a cross between a cauliflower and a potato, and as numerous studies published in ladies’ magazines have shown, women are least attracted to this category of noses. Another female critic observed that my nose was the best argument in favor of the more widespread availability of plastic surgery. And despite the widespread knowledge of the theory propounding a directly proportional relationship between the size of the nose (see illustration below) and a certain discreet organ in the male, girls seemed strangely reluctant to test out the veracity of it by direct observation.pinocchio

Even more than the nose however, the problem was that the feminine presence affected me in either of two ways – I became as taciturn as a rock afflicted with mutism (habitual readers of ‘Penthouse Letters’ may have misconstrued my meaning if I had written that I became as stiff as a rock), or worse still, a sort of ictus affected me so that my body tied itself into knots and paroxysms of hyena-like laughter erupted from my throat. Either of these phenomenons invariably made my lady companions to prefer to be in Beelzebub’s company if the only other alternative available was mine.

And this was the story of my life, until I met my wife that is – but that is a story for another post you know.

I have always been a great believer. I've flitted from one belief to another, from religion to atheism and from one philosophy to another, until I finally settled on J. Krishnamurti whose philosophy is that there is no philosophy. So now I firmly believe that there is nothing to believe. Now such a belief would, I believe, have been considered dangerous to society if the authorities had believed me to be of any consequence. No man of consequence they believe would waste his time on the pursuit of blogging!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in humour
18 comments on “My Lady Luck
  1. Don’t a lot of women like men with big noses? Your wife, for example.

  2. Lynn says:

    cowboy casanova has a ring to it, i like that!

  3. nursemyra says:

    One of my favourite books is called “Cowboys Are My Weakness” by Pam Houston. I don’t recall any mention in it of nose size though

  4. Raouf says:

    That post was really funny.🙂 I like the way you write. Are you a Wodehouse fan?

  5. Raouf says:

    I thought so. Wodehouse faithfuls develop a special style of comedy. Not for nothing is he the greatest comic writer of the English language.🙂

  6. Ashwathy says:

    waiting for that other post!😀

  7. Terri says:

    Great story Doc you sound like a really wonderful person!

  8. whatsinaname says:

    lol!
    So, blogging is the best😉 no nose, no rock-like stand, no hyena like laughter :p
    But seriously, diamonds worth is only know by a few jewellers! Curious to know the remaining story now😀

  9. kunjan says:

    Doc, your post remind me of my college days as medical student, which just got finished. “cowboys” and “bajarang dal” are only tags suitable when there is 3:1 ratio of male:female, and male to beautiful female is even worse. But such life gotta its own advantages.
    Anyways I just dropped to your blog by chance, but I must say it was worth reading …will keep following your posts now-onwards.

  10. ~uh~™ says:

    If that’s the story of your nose then your self- caricature is wrong !

  11. zej96 says:

    Aww, an interesting post.
    I love all of your posts; you write prolifically and vividly, which makes reading all the more interesting!🙂
    And, btw, do not worry about that nose! TBH, I hate my unique nose, too. My own kith and kin try to persuade me for a plastic surgery, but I don’t want to distort the rules of GOD who made me and my distorted nose.🙂 Your writings and humor exhibit your own personality.🙂 Keep it up, you’re impressive. Like, seriously!

Leave a Reply

Doctoratlarge

click to receive nonsense by mail.

Join 491 other followers

my rantings
archives
Like to assess my site?
  • Come on guys! That bra tweet was funny. The girl was just joking. Where's your sense of humor? Don't behave like those Whatsapp moralists 6 minutes ago
  • Mumbai is a happy city, a city with hope, despite its problems Delhi is a grim, pseudo-intellectual, arrogant city, despite its beauty 15 minutes ago
  • Dentists are not doctors. Definitely not. Unless they're pretty girls 2 hours ago
  • @she_whispers But my followers have never given much importance to my DPs 2 hours ago
  • @TheTeeFactory Hahaha 2 hours ago
Guest Counter
  • 126,463 tourists
Picked by Blogadda
Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
Blogadda
