Parting Without Bitterness

No reproaches touched her lips,

And mine touched a ready smile;

When we both agreed that

Our relationship had gone the mile.

 

“Life goes on”, “Change is the only constant…”

And such other trite banalities

Weren’t needed. Neither of us had ever

Had any use for formalities.

 

I touched her hand, she clasped mine,

And the embrace was quite warm,

Perhaps a trifle too long. She said:

“May the fates keep you from harm”

 

And I left her at the airport,

And I waited for my soul to fly,

But that hypocrite was drowning,

In the tear at the corner of her eye.

I have always been a great believer. I've flitted from one belief to another, from religion to atheism and from one philosophy to another, until I finally settled on J. Krishnamurti whose philosophy is that there is no philosophy. So now I firmly believe that there is nothing to believe. Now such a belief would, I believe, have been considered dangerous to society if the authorities had believed me to be of any consequence. No man of consequence they believe would waste his time on the pursuit of blogging!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in poem
3 comments on “Parting Without Bitterness
  1. harshal ranglani says:

    this is beautiful!

  2. […] via Parting Without Bitterness — Bittersweet Pills […]

  3. Vaishali says:

    The pain of parting described so beautifully

Leave a comment

click to receive nonsense by mail.

Join 596 other subscribers
archives
Like to assess my site?
Guest Counter
  • 189,657 tourists
Picked by Blogadda
Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
Blogadda